Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the art of re-loading but have long enjoyed shooting the old time guns-mainly colts and winchesters. I have several originals and clones of each. Like some folks I have apparently gone about my new found hobby of re-loading backasswards. I got the reloading equipment, bought the substitute black powder(easier to clean up) bought some bullets from a local gun store, primers etc, solicited advice from whomever I could corner that claimed they had any inkling about re-loading, even read a book or two, and set about loading up some 44-40 and 45 lc and went to shooting up my neck of the woods here in the north georgia mountains. Then I heard it may be prudent to slug the barrells of my guns to determine what bullet to use, and select bullet size based on the diameter of the cylinder bore and not the barrell groove dimensions. See what I mean about backasswards?-load and shoot-then decide what is the correct bullet. This is where some of you may help me. I have an old colt saa, 45 cal with cylinder slugging at .457 and the barrell at .451, a new colt saa with the same .451 barrell but cylinder bore at .456, and an Italian clone with both cylinder and barrell at .453. I have been loading oregon laser cast in .452 oveer 30 grains of triple 7. The only other bullets I have seen offered are .454. .454 comes closer to filling the cylinders but is that too large to shoot through .451 barrels? or should I just stick with the .452's. Any advice would be appreciated. I am not into CAS or competition so I am not interested in having custom cylinders made but I do like to hit close to what I am aiming at. Thanks. john p

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,336 Posts
What kind of results did you get? The end result is all that matters, there are many ways to get there.