Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,
I am new to Beartooth, and i got a question for ya.. if you can answer with a picture, it would help as well, if not, fine.

I have been reloading for almost 30 years,but recently started for "semi-auto."
Glock model 20, 10mm

I would like to use beartooth 200 gr. FN GC.

Problem is... "I do not know, "where" to taper crimp this puppy.

I am used to large magnum revolvers, and a "roll crimp: is easy to do , and easy to know, "where to do it.

But, with this cast bullet, and the "crimp grove," starring at me.. "i do not know how to, or where to place the crimp(taper).

Can some of you guys help me out here in "details" please
Any and all help greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

CanyonMan

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,336 Posts
CM,

I've loaded that bullet in a .40 Glock, so may be of help.

OK.... here's the deal:

You need to find the longest OAL that will feed through your gun, and eject a loaded round.

Very easy:

First, remove the barrel.

Then, start a bullet in a resized, expanded, unprimed case (no powder either!).

Start with the bullet just barely in the case, where it is way too long. Seat the bullet a little deeper at a time until the loaded round will drop in the chamber, and the base of the case is flush with the top end of the barrel (just like a loaded round of factory ammo would be). Don't try to crimp yet.

Now... when you get that length figured out, reassemble your gun. Put that round you loaded in the magazine and try to feed it from the magazine into the chamber, then try to eject it. Don't be surprised if it won't eject. If so, drop the mag, and poke it out the mag well.

Basically, keep working with your dummy round until you find out what is going to work in your gun.

That's the correct OAL for that bullet in your gun.