Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, as some of you have seen recently, I've been on the lookout for a new gun. A .204 on a semi-auto platform, specifically. Well, these things just don't exist. Remington has one, but it's not legal for hunting in Canada due to its military-style appearance.

This kind of leaves me with three options.

1) Volquatsons Semi-Auto .204. We're talking over $3200 CND for this pup...they do guarantee sub 1/2" grouping at 100 yards, but methinks the coyotes won't know any better.

2)Build it myself. I don't really know if this is an option or not? I've never built a rifle before. I've got plenty of "backyard" gunsmith experience, I can do some machining, and I'm proficient with woodworking. I don't mind tackling projects and giving them an honest go. Any thoughts there?

3)Get a custom rifle built for me. Two potential problems here. First of all, it appears to be quite difficult to find somebody to build on a semi-auto platform. Secondly, seems like most place I look, I am again looking at $2500+ CND.

I'd be interested to hear what the general consensus of the "forumians" would be.

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
So, as some of you have seen recently, I've been on the lookout for a new gun. A .204 on a semi-auto platform, specifically. Well, these things just don't exist. Remington has one, but it's not legal for hunting in Canada due to its military-style appearance.

This kind of leaves me with three options.

1) Volquatsons Semi-Auto .204. We're talking over $3200 CND for this pup...they do guarantee sub 1/2" grouping at 100 yards, but methinks the coyotes won't know any better.

2)Build it myself. I don't really know if this is an option or not? I've never built a rifle before. I've got plenty of "backyard" gunsmith experience, I can do some machining, and I'm proficient with woodworking. I don't mind tackling projects and giving them an honest go. Any thoughts there?