Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m new to shooting older rifles and corrosive ammo. I went out shooting and thought I cleaned it properly afterwards. Apparently I didn’t. (I did not get the bore). It looked pretty bad. I did an invasive cleaning with wire brush and heavy gun oil. The bore looks OK now but I’m worried I did irreparable damage. I shot about 50 rounds and it sat around for 2 weeks. What are the chances I’ve ruined it?

·
Premium Member
14,341 Posts
It depends a lot on climate conditions but if it looks 'good' (shiny, clean) there is no damage.
I assume you got red rust from the first patch?
What gun, caliber and ammo?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It depends a lot on climate conditions but if it looks 'good' (shiny, clean) there is no damage.
I assume you got red rust from the first patch?
What gun, caliber and ammo?
Yugo M24/47, 8mm. Ecuadorian surplus. First couple of patches were reddish, after that just the standard dark ones. Yeah from looks, it looks good now but kinda scared me when I looked down the barrel. I used gun cleaner that I’ve removed surface rust before.

·
Premium Member
14,341 Posts
I think you learned a cheap lesson!

NOTHING is as good as detergent and hot water to clean corrosive ammo residue. It's not as hard as a seems, but you need long arms.

Put two inches of hot water in a dish pan or tub with a long squirt of Blue Dawn dish detergent in it. Put the rifle muzzle down in the water and then pump back and forth with a patch on a rod. First patch down blows bubbles, subsequent passes sucks water up through the bore until its released when the patch reaches the chamber and relieves the suction. A dozen slurps will wash the salts out of the bore. Rinse with clean HOT water by the same method. Dry with a few patches or one pull of a Bore Snake and lightly oil it while still warm.
The same process cleans BP residue, too.

Reactions: Gil Martin

·
Registered