Shooters Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm just starting to learn about casting, so please bear with me. :confused:

Most of the info that I have seen posted and published says that anything more than 2% tin in an alloy is a waste of tin and money. However, I have noticed some posts in the archives here that mention matching the amount of tin and antimony (ex: 3% Antimony and 3% Tin) will help the alloy retain its ductile (sp?) qualities and it will not be as brittle as Linotype; thus, the alloy with equal amounts of tin and antimony will be less likely than linotype to shatter when encountering heavy bone and may actually expand.

Am I reading this right, or am I off base here. If this is true than it seems that this would be an excellant alloy for larger North American game such as Elk, Moose, and Bears.

·
Beartooth Regular
1,184 Posts
Hi Matt,

The only thing I rely on Tin to do is aid mold fillout. It breaks the surface tension of the alloy during pouring and allows it to fill out the mold better.

Lead actually aids alloy ductility in the right proportions with Antimony or Tin added as an alloy "Hardener".

A Tin/Lead Alloy will heat treat but reverts back to it's original hardness quite quickly. A Lead/Antimony alloy will heat treat and hold it's hardness considerably longer.

Tin/Lead alloys are still popular with a number of shooters, especially black powder cartridge shooters. Tin has become an expensive ingredient to an alloy which is why you won't find much of it in many scrap alloys like WW's.

High Antimony and High Tin alloys, in relation to the amount of Lead, can be quite brittle with the High Antimonial alloy the most brittle and the High Tin alloy being somewhat more ductile. Linotype is an example of a High Antimonial alloy.

This is why heat treatment is a worthwhile pursuit because you can use a low percentage Antimonial alloy like WW's and make a very hard but ductile bullet from it.