Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay guys, you've got a stone "Rookie" on the forum today. I received an 1851 Con Navy (Pietta) for Xmas and when the first round fired (not the first load), I was hooked. I'm learning quickly but I'm still going to ask this forum a lot of ignorant questions, here's the first.

In a local gun shop they have a used "Virginia Dragoon" (that's what they're calling it). It's made by ARMI and they want $399 for it. I'm looking for info on this particular type of gun. Is this a "Walker" style gun? What type of powder charge (I'm using fff Pyrodex P) If I pay the ask price for this gun am I getting hammered?

When I type "Virginia Dragoon" into Google I pretty much get links having to do with smokeless 44 mags

Like I said, I'm very new to this. Any comments or opinions regarding these replica hand cannons would be appreciated.

My smokeless powder days are now behind me.

·
Banned
126 Posts
Welcome to the black powder community!

The Dragoon and the Walker are similar except that the Walker holds 60 gr. FFFg and the Dragoon holds 50 gr FFFg.. The barrel of the Walker is also longer. I can not go into too many detals because I am not a true expert regarding revolvers. The Walker was the most powerful of all black powder revolvers.

·
Registered
1,962 Posts
The Walker Colt came first. The Walker Colt had a lot of problems. They were huge, the loading lever was bad, they tended to blow up in the cylinder, and just were not dependable enough. So The Colt Dragoon came along and kind of fixed all the mistakes that the Walker had.

Armi while being a well made revolver or rifle, that price is kind of high. I shoot a 1858 New Army Remington model made by Pietta. Its a very good revolver. Also shoot APP or Pinnacle out of them in 3f. They are a lot easier to clean at the end of the day.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·