Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at loading 223. Loading all other standard rifle calibers, no problem until I get to Lake City brass. It has a military crimp. I buy the RCBS crimp remover and stick in on my case prep center and grind away. Trying to work up some good loads using 68 gr BTHP Hornady bullets for one of my AR's. I figure 50 rounds should be a good start. Go to seat some primers and they won't go in and crushed/folded them. I quit after 9 pieces. What am I doing wrong? Maybe ought to just pitch the whole bucket and buy new. This stuff is worthless. Yes, frustrated.

·
Registered
13,290 Posts
I'm new at loading 223. Loading all other standard rifle calibers, no problem until I get to Lake City brass. It has a military crimp. I buy the RCBS crimp remover and stick in on my case prep center and grind away. Trying to work up some good loads using 68 gr BTHP Hornady bullets for one of my AR's. I figure 50 rounds should be a good start. Go to seat some primers and they won't go in and crushed/folded them. I quit after 9 pieces. What am I doing wrong? Maybe ought to just pitch the whole bucket and buy new. This stuff is worthless. Yes, frustrated.
Primer pocket swager?

·
Super Moderator
13,448 Posts
Something is incorrect about the way the swager is working. Sounds like it isn't going in all the way. I own the Dillon and its ram has a slight radius at the bottom that widens the mouth of the primer pocket just a little extra as it bottoms out. Assuming the RCBS has that, you want to be sure it went all the way home.

If you have some Lee sizing lube, use a Q-tip to put some inside each primer pocket or on the ram before swaging. That can help. The Lee product dries, so it won't bother the primers later, and it may help them slip in. If you use any other case lube for this, you will need to remove it later to prevent primer contamination.