Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking of moving up from a beam scale to an electronic scale with built in dispensing.

- Any bugs in the electronic scales / dispensers?
- Recommendation on brands?

Reloading 308, 30-06, 35 whelen, 300 win mag, 38 special, and 357 mag.

Thanks.

·
Banned
415 Posts
I have no experience with them (or, for that matter, anything...waiting for my press in the mail right now!), but from all of the reviews I've read, and folks I've talked with...it seems like they're full of problems. Everything from the scale not measuring fast enough (resulting in an overcharge), to keypads going kaput in months. But, as I say...never used them! I'm sure somebody here has (or had) one and will chime in with their opinion on them.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
I have used two.

My old powder scale/dispenser was a Lyman DPS 1200 II, which got passed down to my brother. It complained a lot about wanting to be recalibrated, with some powders if threw a heavy charge more often than not, and cleaning the powder out of it was unnecessarily complicated. I bought the III upgrade, which made it faster, but worsened the problem of throwing heavy charges.

I now use the RCBS ChargeMaster Combo, and I love it. It dispenses faster, but throws a heavy charge much less frequently. Much easier to clean. No hassles about recalibrating.

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So for target reloads then, it sounds like it's better to stick with a beam scale instead of a powder dispenser.

Do electronic scales without the dispenser perform better; more consistent, better accuracy in weighing charges?

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,127 Posts