Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

As I read thru the forum, there is always that old conversation about high velocity (light weight? .22-250ish) VS the heavy & slow (.45-70 w/500 gr bullets-ish) theories. Mostly I shoot paper, which doesn't really care, so I have little experience to back any opinions I might harbor.

On that note, I watched this video about crossbow shooting & thought maybe this guy has some insight maybe we are missing.

"Energy is the messenger, Momentum is the message."

Pretty sure this is called stirring the pot!:rolleyes:馃槆

The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
Most of that sort of thing, and indeed, most of what is in our gun press..... is written by people who appear to have flunked grade school physics, among other subjects :rolleyes:

Wound ballistics is an incredibly complicated thing and there are few people who can comprehend the math involved, let alone apply the theory to the real world.

Most of the ballistic 'theories' (if we can denigrate the word 'theory' to apply it here), are at best, wild guesses or written by marketing people to get you to buy things you don't need, don't understand, or both.

Registered
Evidently not everybody is a genius like some of you guys are, there seems to be simple mortals that like to discuss ideas and learn things that are new to them. Rather than being insulting maybe some of you experts could help educate the ignorant masses and post some of your pearls of wisdom rather wasting everybody's time with snarky crap.

I've tried. But it is a little difficult to fit engineering level fluid dynamics, physics, biology, and math into a ten minute video. A couple of years of study, combined with some actual hunting experience with a variety of methods (rifle/pisto/archery) is a good start to understanding how little we know of what happens after the 'bang.'