Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to hand loading but have done alot of reading on it and just came home from the range where I was testing some "working up" loads in my Browning A-bolt .243 win. Here is what I ran:
90gr Speer spitzer, Federal brass, WinLR primers and 43gr to 47gr of Reloader 19, working up in one grain increments. I observed no excessive pressure signs through this range of loads.

90gr Speer spitzer, Federal brass, WinLR primers and 40gr to 45gr of IMR-4350 working up in one grain increments. At the 45gr mark. one sign of excess pressure was observed; a shiny spot on the case head from where the brass expanded into the ejector-pin hole. Also, something very strange, at 43gr the primers stopped being flat and went back to round shoulders like a reduced load.

100gr Siera spitzer, win brass, WinLR primers and 43gr to 46gr of Reloader 19 in 1/2 grain increments. Other than flatter primers, (and I still don't know how flat is too flat) I didn't see any signs of excess pressure.

continue on next post...

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
pressure signs continued...

...100gr Siera spitzer, win brass, WinLR primers and 43gr to 45gr of IMR-4350 working up in one grain increments. At the 45 grain mark I got the same ejector-pin shiny spot on the case head.

All of my loads were at a C.O.A.L. of 2.650. My load data was from Siera, Lee and Lyman manuals. However, all of my loads exceeded the manuals by one or two grains.
Now to the point. I know I need reduced the loads that show signs of excess pressure but I'm not shure by how much. These tests were to find the highest practical velocity for my rifle and I know the manuals can be a bit conservative.

I am open to all types of comments, advice or criticism.

·
Super Moderator
9,551 Posts