Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a college student in AZ and I want to get my first rifle. As a college student I do not have much money. I am looking very closely at the Mosin Nagunt because it is durable, cheap, accurate, and the ammo is cheap and large. I want to use it for fun but in the future I would like to go hunting. Is there any gun that is similar in price and just as good? Thanks in advance!!!!

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,122 Posts
Surplus rifles can be fun, but quality varies a LOT. Make sure the bore isn't rusted out. This applies to Mosins, Mausers, Arisakas, Enfields, Carcanos, and every other ex-military arm.

Accuracy can range from excellent to terrible... and sometimes they don't function at all.

But if you find a good one they can be a bargain. It seems the Russians in particular were very rough on their infantry rifles. Good luck...

·
Registered
11,948 Posts
Welcome to the shooters forum, John.

For your first rifle I'd consider a little more user friendly item. An entry level rifle like the Ruger American is worth looking at. For not much more than the Mosin you would have a new rifle with the choice of chamberings. Putting a scope on one is a breeze and they have a reputation for accuracy.

·
Registered
237 Posts
I was looking at a used 243 Ruger American a couple days ago with a serviceable scope on it. Never looked at one closely before, for $200 that'd make a good rifle on a student budget.

·
Registered
3,768 Posts
Welcome to the shooters forum, John.

For your first rifle I'd consider a little more user friendly item. An entry level rifle like the Ruger American is worth looking at. For not much more than the Mosin you would have a new rifle with the choice of chamberings. Putting a scope on one is a breeze and they have a reputation for accuracy.