Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey ya all. I'm new to reloading and have a ton of questions but will keep it to one or two cause it can get overwhelming.
So I reloaded my first set of rounds for my Remington 30-06 using new Winchester brass, IMR 4451 powder, CCI large primer, and Hornady 200gr ELD-X.
So my first question is setting the headspace for reloading again. I have Hornady match grade sizing dies. How do I know what size bushing will I need? Any help and recommendations are always welcome. I have my bullet depth set at 2.766" to 2.756" and 45.7gn and 48.9gn of powder respectively according to Hornady hand book.

·
Registered
11,935 Posts
X

Welcome to the shooters forum!

You are starting off on the right foot since there is a reloading manual involved. Do what it advises on starting low and working up while watching for over pressure signs. Just a note in that regard, by the time classic pressure signs appear you could be massively over pressure. If you have a chronograph use it. When you reach the published velocity or book maximum charge it's time to stop increasing the charge. Chances are you will find a sweet spot or two before that point.

I've been handloading for 30-06 a bunch of years. Haven't used your combination of components so no advice there. If that don't work out to your expectation you could always try the old standby load of IMR4350 and 165 grain bullet.

Good luck and glad you joined us!

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
37,291 Posts
Welcome, there are tools for setting your sizing die in the proper location, so that cases chamber easily yet aren't worn out too soon from stretching. Hornady makes one, as do others. I assume that is what you mean by 'headspace.'

If you are only asking about setting the seating depth for a particular bullet - well, the sky's the limit there, so to speak, and you'll have to 'fiddle' with that to find out what works best for your gun.