Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been handloading .308 for a few years, and .243 for about a year. This is my first time reloading 45-70. It has been some time since I handloaded a straight-walled case. I don't know if I am being overly critical here or not, but there appears to be a slight bulge in my case wall on one side. It acts like it is not out of round. My best conclusion is maybe to much flair when I open the case up to accept the bullet, right now there is just enough for the bullet to set on top and and inside. I chambered the round in my Sharps, and it goes right in without any hiccups. Any ideas, or am I just overly critical here?

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,129 Posts
You get that sometimes. Try neck expanding with a Lyman "M" die if you aren't already.

·
Registered
475 Posts
Too much lube is my guess. I reload 50-90's and whenever I have too much lube on them I get a slight bulge.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,876 Posts
If the bullet isn't guided into the case straight you'll get a bulge caused by the bullet base. As MikeG suggests, get the Lyman "M" die to properly open and flare the case mouth to accept the bullet, then carefully align the bullet as close as possible as you seat it.

I just neck size to bullet seating depth on the 45-70 so's not to work the case too much. Works fine for my former Marlin LTD1 1895 and the present Spfld Trapdoor carbine. Two boxes of brass are on their 23rd reload.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I dont know if this helped or not, but, I would actually spin cartridge 1/4-1/3 turn as I would start to cycle the round up.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6