Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for help guys I have no muzzleloader experience.
I plan to buy a flintlock rifle to extend my deer season in Pennsylvania.There are two black powder seasons in PA and one is limited to flintlock so my plan is to purchase a flintlock to use in both seasons.
Untill I read the post on recoil and found the muzzleloader hide webb site(which is closed to new subscribers)I had planned to buy a T/C Firestorm in stainless and shoot a lead bullet over blackpowder. The T/C has a 1 in45 twist and my research has turned up that 1 in 32 is best for bullets while 1 in 66 is best for ball and 1 in 45 is a compromise between both.
I'm going to be hunting in the mountains and woods of PA and would never take a shot at over 100yrds even with my marlin .444.I built the marlin to knock deer down flat so don't need to do much tracking and I would like a similar flintlock loading.I'm a good shot and won't pull the trigger if not sure of a clean kill.
Simple is better for me since I'm only looking to extend deer season , not start a new blackpowder hobby or shoot bullseye.
Any suggestions or comments are greatly appreciated.

Jeff

·
Registered
186 Posts
The Hide has a lot of info on muzzleloading, especially flinters. I have been shooting a traditional caplock with a twist of 1 in 48" for about 15 years now. I have used bullets, sabots, and round balls to take big Manitoba whitetails, and have found the balls work as good as anything. One of the most recomended flint rifles on the Hide is the Lyman Great Plains, it has a 1 in 60" twist for ball shooting. If I where to pick up a new muzzleloader it would have the slow ball twist.
http://mamaflinter.tripod.com/
This site will give you all the information you'll need to get started. Good luck, and happy hunting!

·
Banned
7 Posts
the lyman is too heavy and clunky for us, we use either our own made ones or TC's.