Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks.

Repo is the "Nick" but Tony is the name. My thing is "Cowboy Fast Draw". Unfortunately here in Ireland we are unable (Due to Firearms Legislation) to use the kinda guns ye are all used to in the US, so we are only able to use "Blank Firing Replica's"

Mine is a Replica Peacemaker 9mm / .38 cal

We have a good ole time here in Ireland, doing Demonstrations for local fair's or charitable events, and try to put on a bit of a show.

I do have a small query for all you out there that may be in the know. I'm a computer Tech (main occupation) and am sure that someone has designed / created some kind of "Personal Shot Timer Software" that will run on a Laptop. It seems that every link that I have gone to sends me to sites that only have software for "Mobile Phones".

Any help will be much appreciated.

Hope I havent bored ye all too much
Have a good un

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,654 Posts
Welcome. I'm sure it wouldn't be all that hard to write some software to take input from the laptop mic, and time the shots with the system clock ... but in the U.S. the shooting clubs seem to use handheld timers for the most part.

Good luck in your search. Nice country; I've seen the Shannon. You guys have much better beer and I'm jealous :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the "Welcome" note MikeG

I'm sure you are correct, it'll just be a matter of getting some software that will display something on the screen and a mic to pick up the shot. and yes ye are right the Shannon area is especially nice, and sorry but the only place to get a decent beer has to be Ireland. Unfortunately our beer dosent travel well, as I'm sure many of ye know. No need to be jealous, yr more than welcome to come over for a visit, we like sharing - lol