Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to cast bullets, and was wanting to know if I need to use Gas Checks on cast bullets for my 450 Marlin w/ports to get the best accuracy.  I am wanting to load some 400-440grn. loads in 1700-1800 fps. range.

I have heard that the porting will flame cut the base of the bullet and cause accuracy problems and didn't know if this is true.

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,366 Posts
What you have heard is absolutely true!  For the .450 Marlin, especially with your 1700-1900 fps loads you'll absolutely need gas checks for servicable loads.  In fact, anything over about 1100 fps with that ported barrel will require gas-checked bullets for optimum performance.

Also, be aware that best performance will reult from using .460" diameter cast bullets.  We've tested many bullet diameters in these new Marlin ported barrels, and have found that although the Ballard style barrels have .4585" diameter bores as an average, the throats, while being short, are rather generous in diameter, running .4605"-.461", consequently a .460" diameter bullet fills the throat and prevents the bullet from tipping in the throat before entering the rifling.  This greatly enhances accuracy as well.

Hope you enjoy that .450M!

God Bless,

Marshall

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks again Marshal,

Can I shoot a bullet as cast, or do  I need to resize.  I dont want to spend another 150 dollars for a resizing press that will take up more of the space on my reloading bench that i am rapidly running out of?  I heard of a fellow that can make resizing dies for use in a reloading press. If you have heard of him could you pass on his info( I think in TX).  I just need something to crimp on the gas checks because from what NEI says on their web page the bullets come out .002 over anyway.

Thanks Marty.

·
Registered
287 Posts