Shooters Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading, but would like to do so for my 1895G in .45-70.  I've read here and elsewhere that gas checks are necessary for cast bullets fired from my ported rifle.  What are GC's for, and why are they important in my rifle.

Thanks, and nice website!

Jeedle

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I forgot to add that I'm looking at the 405 g bullet for hog hunting here in central California.  Relatively big animals, thick skinned, heavy cartilage plates.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
Gas checks are a brass/copper cup placed on the base of cast bullets, especially designed for gas checks. Cast bullets designed to use gas checks can used without but bullets not designed for gas checks cannot be used with gas checks. The qualifier here is ...within the parameters of normal cast bullet proceedures.
The gas checks purpose is to protect the base of the bullet from the heat, pressures of the rapidly expanding gases generated by the powder. Think of it as a seal that grips the base of the bullet forcing the bullet ahead of it and the gases behind it. The copper/brass on the base of the bullet keeps the gases behind the relatively soft bullet.
You are in the right place to find the bullet you are looking for.
Jim

·
Super Moderator
3,375 Posts
Adding to what Jim has already posted: