Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had an interest in getting my pistol permit for many years. I'm married, and have 2 small children. My wife is not a huge fan of guns, but i would very much like to get into target shooting. I have been shooting with my father before, and shot a .380, and a S&W .40 and loved it. do you have any suggestion on how to approach this??? Safety is a major concern with children in the house, so a gun safe is in order without a doubt. Any sugestion would be great. Thaks , ShawnS:confused:

·
Registered
106 Posts
I am no expert but you asked so here goes.

You are right about the safe being number 1.

After that it depends on the age of your kids and the depth of your wifes feelings.

The earlier you can teach your kids that you guns are not toys and need to be respected the better.

If your kids are old enough to get involved with you, do it.

That will alleviate any dangerous curiosity - if you can get your wife into even better.

Just be careful.

If you want to keep a handgun handy, look into one of the pushbutton combination safes that you can open in the dark.

I would also advocate never keeping one in the chamber if you buy a semi-auto, just as an extra safety for curious kids.

You can train yourself to rack the slide quick enough if you have to.

Just my 2 cent.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,236 Posts
Well, you have two separate issues, one is to get a carry permit and the other is to start target shooting with a handgun.

I'm glad that you have thought through the safety aspect, that is really important. Now, you are going to have to go through one thought process to pick out a carry gun, and another to go down the target shooting path.

Carry guns tend to be on the light but powerful side - which is what makes them useful. Target guns tend to be on the heavier, much less powerful side, for shooter comfort and accuracy.