Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am working up a load for my Sharps rifle in 45-70 caliber, and using 70 grains of Goex FFg powder with Lyman's #457125 bullet, I have been able to achieve 3" 10 shot groups off the bench at 100 yards, which is not a bad starting point. I would like to shrink the group size, and it was recommended to me by a fellow shooter that I try Goex cartridge in place of FFg. Does anyone have any experience with this powder, and if so what kind of results are you able to achieve? Any info would be appreciated as I am new to the game of BPCR shooting and am looking for advice.

thanks

·
Super Moderator
9,511 Posts
It is kind of amazing how much differnce switching grades of powder can make in accuracy...considering it's all supose to be the same basic formula. Wouldn't hurt to try Ctg. grade, may be the right combination. Won't notice much difference in ballistics, Ctg. grade is about the same granulation as FFg...within 1/2 a grade.

Will notice a difference in ballistics if switching to Fg or FFFg. Fg is normally going to produce a lower MV, but it may produce good accuracy. Personally, prefer it in the 50's but not in the smaller bores. Had Fg on hand for a 10ga. and decided to try it in a 50/70..big bore, small case, so lost some velocity, but gained acuracy with 515gr. bullets (was about equal with 425gr. bullets). Tried Ctg. grade (an old lot of Goex) and noticed no real difference in velocity of accuracy in the 50/70.

Tried Fg, Ctg., FFg, and FFFg in a 45/70 (both the 50/70 and the 50/70 are original RB's) and it showed a preference for FFG.

In short...I'd just try refining the FFg load. Some variation in the folowing may just earn larger benefits:
1. Neck/bullet tension
2. Lube (both on the bullet and possible UNDER the bullet with a wad)
3. Seating depth
4. Bullet alloy
-------------