Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie to casting here.

I've been reloading for 15 years but am just now taking up casting. I'm using a propane burner (turkey fryer) and an iron skillet to clean metal and make it into ingots for casting with an electric furnace later. The metal is range scrap from a local indoor pistol range. I know this probably isn't the best metal but for what it costs me ($0.00), I'll use it for low velocity handgun rounds and save the wheelweights for the rifles later. My question is, when I melt the metal and skim off all the junk (jackets etc.), then flux the metal, a sort of yellowish gold colored scum forms on top of the lead. What is this? Is it junk to be discarded or ingrediaents to be mixed back in? Also would a different flux make a difference? I'm currently using candle wax, and I have Lyman bullet lube available to flux with. Any help or input is appreciated.

SSB

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, SSB:
That yellow scum is likely lead oxide. If so, it's unhealthy for you. Some of it's likely already in your range scrap, but you'll make more if you overheat the melt. So turn the heat down as soon as your lead melts and just keep it fluid. Overheating will burn off your tin too. Check out this article and the others by Mr. Fryxell.
http://www.sixguns.com/crew/simplefluxing.htm
I find that wax is OK for flushing the dross off wheelweight clips and fluxing the dross off already clean metal, but it burns off too fast to do a good job of reducing the metal oxides. A half inch of sawdust takes about 15 minutes to burn off and does a much better job.

If you can't flux off the yellow scum, dispose of it safely.

Bye
Jack

·
Registered
162 Posts
Yellow Scum