Shooters Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the market for a 6" revolver, probably .357 mag, plink and deer hunt, and have read nearly all the old postings here about these two species. Then, I went to several different gun stores in the last year or so and got my hands on each of the guns, comparing them on the counter top, side by side. Both the Ruger and SW revolvers are finely made, minimal machine marks, good fit, tight cylinders, and the triggers are quite good, with a slight, and I mean slight edge, to the S&W. Seems metalurgy for new guns is about a wash.........as a hunter ed instructor I can get a great discount on both guns, with about $150 more to get the S&W. I understand the Ruger is easier to take apart and clean...........how about current customer service between the two? Thanks. I don't post much but read a lot here, pretty civil group as internet gun sites go!

Pete

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
Pete

My passion is S&Ws N frame revolvers, with the single Colt Python. Ruger make a stout revolver, when you are not shooting it you can use it for a pry bar, sledge hammer. S&Ws L frames are basically N frames with a smaller grip for the folks with short fingers.
I worked over a Ruger for a friend a number of years ago, slicked up the trigger and lapped the barrel and he wouldn't trade it for anything.
My suggestion is buy both, use them for 5 or 10 years and see whick you like best.
I think the answer is which ever fits best, have the trigger worked over and enjoy. Both are quality handguns.

Jim

·
Banned
271 Posts