Shooters Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Edit: What should you use on bolt guns? Grease or oil? I have a Remington 700 S/A 22.250Rem 24in barrel, in custom manners stock, and a timney trigger kit. Any suggestions on what I should use. Like for the bolt what should I use

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
38,163 Posts
What part of the gun? It would help to know that.......

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I'm pretty new to shooting and yes I did go out and buy the crazy cool beded stock even though I'm fairly new but I used a factory varment rifle from Remington I'm just not sure what should be used on the bolt area and the trigger group I want my parts to last longer than me of course.

·
Registered
8,149 Posts
Well I'm pretty new to shooting and yes I did go out and buy the crazy cool beded stock even though I'm fairly new but I used a factory varment rifle from Remington I'm just not sure what should be used on the bolt area and the trigger group I want my parts to last longer than me of course.
Welcome to the forum.

You'll find lots of personal opinions and choices when it comes to gun oils. I typically prefer a spray can and cloth. Spray a bit of my Royal Purple gun oil on a chosen rag and wipe what needs to be lubed or protected. As for your bolt and bolt guides, it's best to remove the bolt and I do just as I mentioned; oily rag all over the bolt and on the back and sides of the locking lugs. A Q-tip with oil can be helpful in lubing the bolt rails in the receiver area. For barrel cleaning, I like to use a Bore Snake and you can follow that up with a lightly oiled patch if you want. I'm of the sort that doesn't feel that a bore needs cleaning every time you shoot. Again, my personal preferences.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·