Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am a newbie to this site but not to guns. I have started dabbling in the gunsmith area of weapons, mostly bolt on type stuff, but never too scared to try something new.

I am looking at a Remington 700 ADL in .222 that a buddy of mine has had for a long time. He pulled it out of the gun cabinet after sitting in there for +25 years and the blueing on the barrel and the receiver is gone. not from wear and tear, but just gone. I have attached some links to the pictures to hopefully show what it looks like.

when I rub my finger across the transition, dont even notice the difference. no pitting has taken place in these areas but there is some surface rust that with a little elbow grease I think will come right off.

so my question is has anyone seen this before? In talking with some of my more experience gun buddies they mentioned sometimes the steel isnt processed right and there is a concentration of nickel that does not accept the blueing as well.

I am not worried about making this a show piece, but I am thinking this may be a good excercise in blueing process for me.

http://thumb0.webshots.net/t/73/73/6/91/13/2576691130065764560kRQhdJ_th.jpg

http://thumb0.webshots.net/t/69/769/5/44/48/2918544480065764560uMuzJX_th.jpg

http://thumb0.webshots.net/t/96/196/6/60/1/2467660010065764560kZChnx_th.jpg

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
The paictures are small on my laptop and I can't enlarge them, but that looks like a chemical at work -- something like Naval Jelly, or some other rust remover. As bluing is just a chemical rust, I have seen exactly this result when the metal was exposed to something like that. Could there have been a misguided attempt at rust removal?

·
Registered
410 Posts