Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really hoping some of you Model '92 guys can help me out here, because I'm really confused about a problem I'm having a real problem with my rifle. It's an original Winchester '92 that my dad had worked on about a year ago, to clean up and tighten the action and replace the original barrel with a Green Mountain barrel in 44/40, which is what it had originally.

Up until recently I had no trouble with this gun, but when I went to shoot it today, I found that the hammer will not stay back in the cocked position. This hasn't happened before and I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the gun, so if it has to be taken apart, I will find a local gunsmith that can work on it. I'm just hoping one of you has an idea what is wrong with it so I know what's going on before I take it in.

Any thoughts? :(

·
Registered
13,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just called my dad and he said the internal workings of the gun were not examined when the new barrel was replaced, so I'm guessing something has broken, internally. I don't know much at all about lever guns but I'm guessing Davers is correct and it's a worn out or broken sear. I'll definitely take it to a gunsmith as I don't want to get it apart and not be able to get it back together! :eek:

·
Registered
13,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
UPDATE: I am able to manually hold the trigger forward and then successfully cock the hammer. With the hammer down, there is a great deal of "play" in the trigger itself. Does this suggest a broken trigger spring?

·
Registered
3,915 Posts
UPDATE: I am able to manually hold the trigger forward and then successfully cock the hammer. With the hammer down, there is a great deal of "play" in the trigger itself. Does this suggest a broken trigger spring?
Could very well be a spring issue, Jason. Might check the sear though too.

·
Registered
4,740 Posts