Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no experience with cast bullets, but have been handloading jacketed bullets for about six years now.  Is there any differences with regards to bullet seating, etc?  Also, what size would be best for my 416 Remington Magnum, .417" or .418"?

·
Registered
256 Posts
Tod: I have no experience with 416 but--- here's some thoughts:
Best accuracy is usually obtained with bullets which are a thou or two over depth of groves. It's pretty hard to make a mold smaller however and keep everything round. You can lap a mold bigger with a bit of care,so---. The alternate way to figure it out would be to buy or have given a few samples in different sizes and try to figure it out before you buy a mold. It's a good idea to slug your bore before ordering as well so you are sure just what you are trying to fit a bullet to. I think the host here has what you need for doing this.
You will need to bell the case slightly to prevent shaving the bullet. Lyman makes a simple die just for this purpose although I don't know if they make 416. You can also carefully bell the case slightly with a tapered  centre punch or possibly even something like a larger bullet and a light hammer- just needs a bit.
Seating depth will be controlled by either or both  magazine length and interference with the lands. Most cast bullets also have a crimp grove which allows you to get rid of the bell and anchors the bullet in the case. If you are going to load heavy in the 416 I recommend crimping. The groove may or may not be the same as the ideal (as in jacketed bullet) seating depth in your rifle. It'll probably work fine regardless. With some bullets in some rifles loaders may opt to crimp in a lubrication grooverather than the crimp groove.  Probably not many clear answers here but may help. LOL.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,225 Posts
BC has made a good start on what you need to know!