Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have good load data for heavyweight bullets in .357 Magnum, using WW296 powder?  Would be interested in any information.  Also, does anyone have experience with heavy loads in S&W 686?

·
Super Moderator
3,365 Posts
My favorite and most effective, efficient heavy weight bullet for the .357 Magnum is posted here:

BTB .358"-185g FNGC/16.0g H110/WSPP/Win Brass

Exellent load in all .357's I've shot it in.   Over the years have shared the load with many people all with glowing reports.

Hope this is what you were looking for!

God Bless,

Marshall

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
Jeff   I started shooting the .44 mag in 1956, but recently I have been playingwith my 686-3. Two of our group have killed quite a few large hogs with the Remington 180 gr loads. I'm sold on Marshall's bullets and have used them in the .44 Mag. There's been about 10 deer and 1 hog killed with his 250 gr LFN this year. The .357 bullet that Marshall mentioned has a flat point (meplat) of .280", which is the same size as the famous Keith Bullet for the .44's. I have 100 on order now and will be using his load in my 686 in the future. As for the 686's....From what I have seen, and other feel, the 686 series are tough guns. For a long time I keep a mod 28 and could never shake it loose, as I did on the K frame guns. I was cocerned about whether I could get down low enough for the heavies in my 686, however I did have alittle adjustment left on the sight with the 180 gr Rem's I tried.S&W Company is in trouble, but still make a fine gun. Too bad many people are down on the firearm, due to their political position. I'm not buying any of their products at present, but I'm sure not dumping the "Smiths" I have now. I'm sure you would like the 185 gr that Marshall is posting about. I have been leaning towards WW296 ( it's the same as H110 within lot numbers), but only because I've not worked with H110...Because of