Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been thinking about getting a Ar-15. First let me say that I am new to AR-15's but I am not new to guns I have many. I have been looking around and have pretty much come to the conclusion that a Colt is one of the best but there is no way I can spend that much money. I'm leaning towards a bushmaster but I dont know much about AR-15's. Im looking to spend Absolutely no more than 1000.00 I want to use the 5.56mm/.223 caliber. I will be using this for some target shooting and if ever I need to defend my family and I if the SHTF.

·
Banned
1,398 Posts
Basically they are all good if built to MilSpec standards. I've shot numerous makes and all functioned properly. A hunting buddy turns his nose up to anything unless its Bushmaster but his latest performs worse than my current also ran manufacturer. I've read where different makers are supposed to be better in a tactical equipped version but since tactical doesn't interest me its only so much BS. There are several out there in the $650 to $800 range that are basic versions. Depending on what options you want will determine where in that range the price falls. LoPro upper receiver without forward assist and plain foreend without muzzle brake will be lower price.

·
Banned
6,248 Posts
Don't get the Bushmaster/DPMS "Plinker" model, they have pencil thin barrels, or the DPMS Sporticals, these are red headed stepchildren of the AR world.

I'd get the Mini 14, its way more reliable than any AR and much less expensive.

·
Banned
170 Posts