Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i bought a remington 30 ot 6 bolt action rifle and the guy at the store sold me some federal brand ammo centerfire 150 grain soft point bullets but they dont fit in the gun they are too fat and wont let the bolt go all the way in is this the wrong ammo for the gun or what? please help

·
Registered
129 Posts
Take the rifle and the cartridges - along with your receipts - back to the store. If your rifle is a 30-06 and the cartridges are 30-06 then they should work. Make sure your rifle is empty and all the cartridges in the original Federal box. Explain what's wrong and let the store clerks or manager check things out. DO NOT try to load the rifle yourself to show them what the problem is.

Hopefully they'll set things right for you.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Sweet thanks bro im a big noob when it comes to guns but i really want to learn and become a avid hunter just never had a dad or anyone to take me and teach me but im just having some problems with the bullets and i will try what u said. Thank you for your response everyone on here seems really nice and very knowledgeable i look forward to learning a lot from you guys. Thanks again.

·
Registered
280 Posts
you should be able to find the cartridge your gun is chambered for on the barrel near the action. could be a case of wrong gun in the box. if the gun was a used gun, it may have been rechambered, and the changed was not stamped on the barrel. double check the box, you would not be the first guy to grab the wrong box of ammo. i have had to hunt with an empty gun because i grabbed the wrong ammo leaving the house.

·
Registered
350 Posts
Yes. Do not force the ammo and do not attempt to shoot it. Take a look at the base of the cartridge to see if the caliber is marked. Take ammo and rifle to a gun shop and have them look at it.

·
Registered
49 Posts
3006 ammo