Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey ya'll new to the site and looking for some recommendations. I am buying a new Henry case hardened .45-70 with the 22" barrel. The gun will predominantly be used for hunting large Iowa whitetails. I am looking for a hunting load with moderate recoil and accuracy out to 200 yards. I have more than 20 years experience hunting deer with 12 gauge slugs, muzzleloaders, and straight wall pistol calibers. I am looking for a round that is comfortable to shoot and wouldn't be overkill for my 15 year old daughter. She has killed a couple deer with a break-action CVA .44mag and my CVA muzzleloader shooting 300 grain sabots.

I would appreciate any feedback and recommendations from people with real world experience with this round and similar rifles.

Thank you in advance!

Joe

·
Registered
3,735 Posts