Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone here have an opinion on Henry rifles/lever guns? while trying to decide on what lever gun to get, I started researching different companies like Marlin, Winchester and Henry. I like that Henry rifles are US made, but hows the quality and reliability? when I looked at a Henry rifle at Gander Mtn it felt pretty substantial in my hands....had to weigh a tad over 8 lbs, but i'm guessing because it was a magnum of some sort that it added to the weight. can anyone chime in on their personal experiences with Henry rifles, especially their 30-30's?

·
Banned
421 Posts
I have a Golden Boy and a Frontier, both in 22 LR. Their quality is very good, and the Frontier shoots very accurately. It's one of the best bargains available today in a rimfire lever gun. I have no experience with the Henry centerfire rifles, but I hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
One thing is for sure, they have the smoothest action out of the box. I like Henry lever actions and they do run heavy. Great family run company unlike "Private Equity Company"/Remington/Marlin/H&R conglomeration. They have a new for 2011 30-30 at 7 lbs which looks nice.

Reactions: dtk1952

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
They've had one of the Henry 30-30's on the rack at the local gun shop for pushing a year now, I think the $700 price tag on it is most of whats wrong with it?, you can get a Marlin XLR for that kind of $$$$, the regular marlins FLY! off of the racks around here and even the vintage Winchesters are only getting $300-$450? so why have something that no one knows much about? when you can have a proven performer for half the price??

Reactions: carter

·
Registered
13 Posts