Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just moved to big old Texas fem the Uk and Im pretty new to guns but very keen to start hunting! I have a Colt AR15 and need to buy a rifle scope for it. Im completely overwhelmed by the huge volume of models and makes. Someone advised me the Nikon Prostaff are decent but there are so many varieties.

Could someone please suggest a rifle scope under $300 that they consider is a decent scope? I have a Colt AR15 and want to use it for hunting....hogs, deer, turkey etc.

Any advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated!! :)

Being a woman I don't want to end up in Cabelas and be sold a rubbish one as it would be clear I have no idea! PS very keen to learn if anyone could also explain what the numbers etc mean in scope names?

Jazz

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,453 Posts
Welcome.

The Nikon would work fine, as would the Leupold scopes in that price range, and probably a half dozen other makes / models in that price range.

I'm going to move your thread to the scopes forum where it might get some more focused responses.

Don't think the folks in Cabela's would steer you wrong, in any case.

Good luck.

·
Registered
11,960 Posts
Welcome to the USA and to the world of shooting.

What to recommend is tough because everyone has their opinions. Two brand names that are personal favorites are Leupold and Nikon. I've seen lots of good comments on the Prostaff. Nikon is very good glass for the dollar spent.

Concerning the. numbers, for example 3x9x40; would be a variable with 3x as its low setting and 9x as its highest setting. The 40 is objective lens diameter. I'd consider 3x9x40 a good choice for what you are intending to do with the rifle.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
I have the Nikon P-223 3-9x40 on my AR, I like it just fine, good scope for the $ spent.

Reactions: jazzleigh20

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5