Shooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,732 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody used the Hornady 6mm 100gr. soft points (not boat tails) on pigs? The product # is 2450.

My current Hornady manual says they are of the Interlock type, but the boxes look to be fairly old and don't have the word "Interlock" anywhere on them. I have 200 of these and need to find something to load for my wife's 6mm. We ran out of Remington ammo and the Federal stuff that replaced it isn't making it through deer on broadside shots. I have some Winchester factory ammo but the rifle didn't like it; groups poorly.

Anyway..... if there is any feedback regarding use on pigs, or large deer I suppose, that would be helpful.

·
Banned
490 Posts
A buddy of mine killed quite a few deer with that bullet and really liked it. He got pass throughs on a fairly high percentage of broadside shots. I've only shot one hog so I am no expert on the subject, but in my opinion a pig shot behind the shoulder with one of those bullets is going to be very very dead in 10 seconds or so. However I suspect on large hogs you won't get too many exit holes.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,135 Posts
Well, Mike -

Can't remember if you ever saw my P-17 that's customized into a 6mm/284 at the camp a couple years ago, but I shoot that bullet exclusively for deer sized game and the shots are all one-shot kills through and through. Last 10 pointer only made it 30 yds after being hit.

You get the ooomph of the 6mm Rem behind that bullet and I think the piggies are gonna get some hurt on them.

·
Registered
13,290 Posts
Mike,

I can offer some very specific insight to your question: