1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
just finished loading 50 cartridges in .223. stats are as follows:

case - winchester
primer - winchester sr
bullet - hornady 50-grn v-max boattail (#22261)
powder - imr 3031 (1.9cc, or 24.9 grains)
ballistic coeffecient - .242
col - 2.313 (chambered nicely, fit well into magazine)
expected velocity - appx 3270fps

according to everything i see and read, this is a fine load and quite a bit under max for this powder/bullet combination. the only way to know for sure, of course, is to test them.

if anyone sees anything blatantly wrong with this load, let me know, i am still quite new to reloading.

thanks!

·
Beartooth Regular
7,768 Posts
Hi, tasunkawitko:
It looks OK to me, although Hornady recommends 25.7 grains as maximum and you should start at least 5% low, which is 24.4 grains. One thing that concerns me is that you specified your load as 1.9cc. Is this a weighed amount or did you just use a Lee powder dipper? Your technique could vary enough from Lee's to put you over the edge, although you're more likely light.

Bye
Jack

·
Banned
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jack -

i did use the lee dipper. the lee loader came with a 1.6cc dipper, but according to hornady these were not even starting loads, so i switched to the 1.9cc dipper, which, according to hornady, lee and imr, was still a fair amount below max.

along about the third cartridge, i got paranoid about my technique and i weighed the charge. it came to exactly 24.9grains, which dovetails with what lee says it should be. i was quite careful to be as consistent as possible with all of the charges, and was quite conservative. none of the charges were overflowing, and all were leveled off, so i am quite confident that they were consistent.