Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will say I am not into modding guns or loading my own rounds, but i would like to get into reloading someday. Anyway, for a stock gun and a quality factory load (I have used Remington accutip rounds in the past. Expensive but they seem to work well) how is this setup: Browning Eclipse M-1000 stainless .300 WSM with a Leupold VX III 6.5-20x50mm LR scope. Also, how heavy of a round should I be shooting? I am thinking a 150gr.? I would like to use this setup to shoot 500+ yards confidently with practice, practice, practice of course. I shoot deer mostly but would like to get into more long range game shooting. Let me know what you guys think, I am by no means an expert so any input would be appreciated.

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
The only thing I can offer is that the 150gr bullet typically doesn't have a great BC, in that caliber. Might want to go up to a 165 or 180gr, for truly long-range shooting. Just remember to ask yourself whether a 500 yard shot at game is "hunting" or "shooting"...and whether or not the big game we hunt is deserving of more respect than to just be "shot" at.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think it is giving the game more respect by adding distance. How hard is it to kill something at 200 yards? In my opinion that is less sport that 500 yards. Look at bow hunting, that is hard as ****, to make a rifle hunt difficult, add some distance. I just thought the 150 grain would have less drop, probably would not have enough energy at 500+ yards for a good kill though I suppose.

·
Banned
131 Posts
Forget bullet weight, shoot what is the most accurate. You need to be MOA or better at 500 yards to kill big game, just remember that.

·
Registered
585 Posts