Shooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always been interested in hand loading but I don't know anyone who actually does it and I have no idea where to begin. My 270 model 700 is my primary hunting rifle and my desire to reuse shells isn't just about saving money, it's more about consistent quality of the rounds I use. I've posted on these forums before about the problem I had with Remington ammo and even though my gun prefers Winchester 270 130 grains consistency seems to vary box to box.

Anyway, I have zero experience with hand loading. What rig should I start with, what book/tutorial should I buy etc... Thank you in advance for any info you can provide!

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
To begin with I would go to www.youtube.com and watch some videos on reloading. There are several thousands on that site. Next, I'd get a good reloading manual from someone like Lyman, Hornady or maybe Lee and read it cover to cover. You could ask at your local gun store if they know anyone in your area that would give you some pointers.

·
The Shadow
7,480 Posts
There is some very very good info in just about every reloading manual I have.
As I have told many people of the years, grab 2 or three of them, and read them from cover to cover, excluding the data. When finished, do it at least one more time.

You should be able to get them all at the library for free, that way you can read several to get the theory of operation, before purchasing a half dozen of them.
My main manuals I use are Lyman, Lee, Speer, Nosler, Hornady.

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
10,729 Posts
I've seen some of these videos of which Blackhawk355 speaks and while most of them contain excellent information and handy beginner;s tips some (not all, only some) I wouldn't follow.