Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to reloading. I just got Lee pro 1000 press with dies for 9mm from one of reputable vendors. It supposed to have carbide dies, but how can I really tell by looking at the die whether it is carbide one or steel ?

I have heard that carbide ones have of blue tint. But all of mine seams to have the same look of the steel.
The decap die has the following marks on it
Lee-9mm-B0 (or the last ones van be an "O" I guess).

Not that I had any significant problems with it. But I only loaded like 30 rounds with it and I want to make sure I got what I paid for.

Thanks a lot in advance.

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
The carbide is only an insert, the outside body of the "carbide" dies is still steel, you can see the insert in the mouth of the die.

·
Banned
507 Posts
The carbide is a ring at the mouth of the die. I haven't seen too many pistols dies these days that aren't carbide. It must be a Fad or something. :)

Jerry

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,654 Posts
If you aren't sticking cases it has a carbide insert in the die. You'd know if it was plain steel.....

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
it was not sticking yet. There was one case that was in that die the shaft separated frome case carrier. So I just bolted it back and was able to remove the case fairly easy.

If you aren't sticking cases it has a carbide insert in the die. You'd know if it was plain steel.....

·
Registered
112 Posts
On the bottom of the sizing/decaping die (near the decaping pin) their is a ring of carbide which is blue tinted and it is easy to tell the ring is of a different materal than the die body. Carbide dies do not require the case to be lubed (strait wslled pistol cases anyway). Their are steel dies out there but thay are not common any longer.

·
Registered
49 Posts