Shooters Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4,168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am finally getting the hang of this. Keep my focus on the front sight and relax. I never could understand how anyone could judge a load for accuracy off hand and not from the bench but as I started practicing off hand things fell in place. Off the bench I struggled for groups, tried many loads and changed everything I could. I questioned the gun, the sights, the rest. I shot lead and jacketed, magnum and reg primers, different brass and 4 different powders.

The main thing is I shot and shot and shot and all along my failure turned into my teacher. I started shooting off hand at three targets at 30 20 and 10 yds. Farthest first to closest last. I stilll miss the 8 X 11 paper targets some and it is not always the 30 yd one but I am getting better and it is fun. Now I load to shoot not to improve my accuracy. I shoot only lead now and my barrel leads very little because of all the cleaning and jacketed bullets I shot. It will never see another jacketed bullet and one day I may even buy some BTBs. The 16 brn Mid- Kansas are OK for now but I wish I could find a softer one locally that is cheap for some light practice loads. My supplier has quit.

I shoot every weekend and it is more fun than I deserve. Thanks for all you guys help. I would not have stayed with it without your knowledge and support.

I have graduated to a new level. I don't know what it is ,but I like it.

·
Beartooth Regular
2,141 Posts
Hey Chief! Congratulations! I'm glad you've hung in there. Just when I thought I was figuring it out a little bit I got a new gun (GP-100) and it's like I'm almost back to square one. I still don't know how good it shoots!
    At least with my .44 I know what the gun will do, it's just up to me to shoot it right.
     Keep at it, and once again congratulations.
                              IDShooter

·
Registered
123 Posts