Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys,

Need a bit of help here. Ran into a problem tonight that I haven't encountered in 15 years of reloading.

I was partial-sizing some 7X57mm brass on a Lyman turett press, with Lee dies, when I had a case seize the expander rod and pull it out of the die! I use Lyman quick-shot spray case lube, and a Lyman neck brush to clean the inside of the case. Then I dip the case into Lyman motor mica to lube the inside of the neck to minimize stretching. I've been using this system for several years with no problems, so I was surprised. I had noticed more resistance lately when withdrawing cases from the sizing die, but this is the first one that actually stuck.

After much cussing and reinstalling the expander rod, I used some RCBS case lube 2 on a Qtip to lube the necks of the remaining cases and finished without incident. Has anyone else had this problem? Is it a die problem? The dies are fairly new but the expander rod seems smooth to the touch. Did I maybe just not get enough mica inside the neck? Is there a better inside neck lube? Any help is appreciated.

SSB

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,231 Posts
You can have some brass build up on expanders, then they will gall and stick badly. Rub it down with a little Hoppes and see what comes off.

Possible also that you just got a case with a thick or overly hard neck and it was then much more difficult than it should have been to pull the expander through.

There are carbide expander buttons for rifle dies, but I have never used them. I think Hornady makes them and also has a version for RCBS dies, if memory serves.

I have given up on this method entirely, and gone to Lyman "M"-type expanding dies, which expand on the way in, not out. No lube, and as far as I can tell, necks end up straighter. Does require an extra step, or station in your progressive, though.

·
Registered
3,125 Posts