Shooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a newbie, I want it all and I want it now! I bought a Rem 700 SPS tactical .308 that I mainly will use for target shooting. I'm looking at the Bushnell 4200 8-32X40 scope. My problem is, if I do want to hunt with it, will the 8x be too much magnification for hunting?

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
I would never use a scope for hunting that could go no lower than 8X. For hunting big game, I want no more than 4X on the bottom end.

·
Super Moderator
13,632 Posts
There's a reason 3X-9X scopes are most common in the field. I had the experience with a 4.5X scope of picking up a wrong target when snap shooting under pressure to make speed against a competitor (not too different from buck fever; adrenaline is not your friend in these matters). For speed in the field, I've been sold on the long eye relief scout scope concept, but subbing one for a high power or a mil dot scope won't happen with conventional scope bases. I think, in your shoes, I would get a good quality quick release scope ring system and just accept needing two scopes and ring sets so I could swap the two without losing zeros. Get a lower power, wider field scope for hunting.

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
JW,

A scope that has a lowest power setting of 8X is, in fact, not appropriate for 95% of any big-game hunting you might do. That other 5% might including pronghorn or varmint hunting, or if you were to restrict yourself to ONLY hunting large, open fields for deer. A scope that you keep dialed down to around 2X and can crank up to maybe 10X would be a much better choice for big-game hunting.

·
Banned
1,002 Posts
Being a newbie, I want it all and I want it now! I bought a Rem 700 SPS tactical .308 that I mainly will use for target shooting. I'm looking at the Bushnell 4200 8-32X40 scope. My problem is, if I do want to hunt with it, will the 8x be too much magnification for hunting?
jw,