Shooters Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This is my first post. What a great site! I’m a total noob as far as reloading, so I’ve been lurking for a while trying to learn as much as I can. Also, I have been collecting my equipment and supplies as money allows. Hopefully I will be able to start loading in a couple of weeks.

My first question is about climate control or lack thereof and how it might effect the loading process, equipment, and components. Specifically, I have a small detached building that I am considering using for my reloading. The issue is that the building would not be heated or air conditioned, unless I were in there. This small building is insulated, and wind proof. So, what I would like to know, is how freezing temperatures in the winter, and 100+°F temperatures in the summer, might effect the equipment, components, and loading process? I would bring the room to a comfortable temperature prior to reloading by either heating or cooling as necessary.

I look forward to hearing your experiences, thoughts, and recommendations.

Thank you,

Chip

·
Banned
484 Posts
All I can say is that I store all of my powder, primers and ammo in an unheated metal pole building where it is subject to 100 plus degrees in the summer and minus 30 sometimes in the winter. I have a very large stash of components including WWII surplus powder that I have had since about 1969. The powder is on shelves in tightly sealed containers and primers are in ammo cans,

I have never had anything go bad, and that WWII H4831 still smells sweet and shoots even sweeter. It's older than I am and I wish I was holding up as well as it is.

My loading equipment, however, is in the house, but as long as you keep everything dry and let things come to room temperature, I cannot see why you would have any problem.

·
Piney Woods Moderator
6,227 Posts