Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to the sport of shooting!
I'm left handed and I would like to get bolt action rifle to do some target shooting. My question is if I should get standard rifle or one for left handed shooters?

What's your experience and opinion on this subject?

·
Registered
4,203 Posts
I've seen leftys shoot right handed bolt actions, not the prettiest thing in the world but with practice, its doable. Are you left eye dominant as well as being left handed.

·
Registered
429 Posts
I shoot lefty. If it is target shooting, a regular right sided bolt is indeed doable. If you go hunting, find a lefty bolt. They are far and few between but Ruger and Remington make them.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I'm left handed as well as left eye dominant and I shoot right handed actions . As far as I'm concerned it's no different than shooting a falling block or single action . You only need one shot! I've smacked hundreds of yotes and other such varmits with my 220 swift ( right hand action ) and many a deer and elk with my 8 mm . Overcome , improvise and adapt. I prefer a wheel gun but sometimes that just don't get er. I've been doing it for 40 years and it works for me .

·
Super Moderator
3,827 Posts
It depends

I am right handed and left eye dominant and have been shooting right hand guns just about all my life. I am so used to right hand guns that left hand guns seem awkward. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
487 Posts
i am left handed and have always shot right handed bolt guns. my cousin is also left handed and shoots right bolt guns. it is actually kind of easy to operate the action with a little practice. once you have pulled trigger raise the muzzle slightly operate bolt with right hand and by the time your right hand is back on forend you are back on target

·
Registered
13,291 Posts