Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this a couple hours ago but it never posted on the site?????? Here it goes again.

I just bought 50 pieces of once fired Lake City 308 brass. I can get a lot more (like 1000) for a good price. I have never used this brass before. It seemed to size a little bit hard but not unbearable. The primers seated a little stuff as well. That may be a good thing. I am looking to see if anyone has used this brass and has any input. The price is right I am just wondering about lifespan. I had Remington brass and threw it all away after about two loadings and switched to Winchester with good results but that batch is starting to get week.

Thanks,

AL

·
Registered
13,209 Posts
Why did you throw away the Remington brass? Did it fail in some way?

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,956 Posts
When using military brass, you need to reduce the loads somewhat due to the greater case thickness, if you're loading near maximum loads.

·
Banned
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Yes thanks for the reminder Kdub. I will be starting new load development anyway cause I am going to try the "new" IMR8208

After two loadings the primer pockets were stretched (not hot load) and it needed trimming after every load. I have some Remington 7mm/08 bras that has been good but the 308 stuff did not last long at all.

AL

·
Registered
13,209 Posts
Yes thanks for the reminder Kdub. I will be starting new load development anyway cause I am going to try the "new" IMR8208

After two loadings the primer pockets were stretched (not hot load) and it needed trimming after every load. I have some Remington 7mm/08 bras that has been good but the 308 stuff did not last long at all.

AL
See, I had heard Federal brass was bad for that, but not Remington. I'm starting to wonder if anybody except Lapua makes good brass?

·
Registered
243 Posts