Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to start reloading this summer, and I want to load a little for accuracy, and a lot for costs. This got me thinking about bullet casting.
I've cast round .50 cal balls for muzzleloaders so I have the melting pot.
But I'm wondering if a .30-06 can push lead fast enough to wear the barrel out?
If so, is there any way to prevent this? I have absolutely no idea how to jacket the bullet, or powder coat it. I'm willing to try and learn though, but I don't want to spend a whole lot on equipment to coat or jacket them. Is there any way to not wear out the barrel? A special lube?

I'm new to the whole reloading high velocity cast stuff, so any tips and advice would be helpful.

·
Banned
1,668 Posts
Rifleman97,

I shoot lots of cast bullets in my rifles and handguns. If you have not read Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook, I recommend it. Cast bullets will not harm gun barrels. In my .30-06 rifles the most accurate cast bullets run 1600 to 1900 fps. I use gas checks and Alox lube for most cast rifle bullets.

Webley

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't plan on pushing velocity with cast bullets because I just want to make them for fun and to make shooting cheaper, so I won't use a whole lot of powder. But I am curious, what's the fastest you can safely push them? Pretend it's a 160 grain cause that's what my gun likes best so far

·
Banned
1,668 Posts
Rifleman97,

The Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook lists recommended powder charges. On page 191, the .30-06 load using the 160 grain cast bullet goes from 1687 fps to 2731 fps. I shoot 173 to 185 grain cast bullets in a range up to about 1900 fps. Range test your cast bullets and do not be surprised if your accuracy load is way under 2731 fps. Use a good #2 Alloy, or harder if you are trying for high velocity.

Webley

·
Registered
3,471 Posts
Bare Pure Soft Lead bullets have one Speed Limit"