Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been relaoding jacketed bullets for over 15 years, however I have never loaded cast.  For practice I would like to use gas-checked bullets with the same profile as my jacketed hunting bullets.  I would like to shoot 250gr RNGC in my 358 Winchester at around 2300 fps.  Will there be a problem with leading?  Also, where can I get an expander die to flare the case mouth?  Any help from you guys is much appreciated.  Thanks.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,236 Posts
The answer is "probably."  There are a lot of factors, bullet fit, alloy, lube, etc.  Start with a properly sized gas-check bullet and you'll be off to a good start.  Slug your barrel and include this information when ordering!

For a neck expander that really works, get a Lyman "M" die.  Not sure if these are made specifically for the .358, BUT one for a similar .35 cal rifle cartridge should work (.35 Whelen, .350 Rem Mag, maybe even .35 Rem).

They are pretty generic.  As far as I'm aware there are only two body sizes, a "long" and a "short", with both long and short expander stems.  The long and short die bodies are actually pretty close and probably wouldn't make much difference.  So if you have to build one out of parts, then you want a long die body and a .35 cal expander.

They actually have a very broad range of adjustment and I suspect that one for a .357 mag case would work also.  If I had a .308 case laying around I'd try it.

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, mbogo:
  As Mike said, M-Die parts are interchangable. If the .358 Winchester is the only cast calibre you plan on loading for, order the 35L. L as in long, long enough for a full length magnum.