Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dad got his PAL yesterday (Canadian :)) which means I'll be getting mine in a week or two barring any difficulties. I've been shooting little air rifles since I was eight or nine years old (I'm 19 now) and I'm quite excited to purchase my first rifle. I'm 99% set on a .22 LR, and I'd rather get a semiautomatic. To me, that spells tons of cheap, fun, simple shooting with an actual firearm. I've been thinking the Ruger 10/22 would be fantastic. It's inexpensive, proven and semiautomatic. I can do a lot of plinking for a little cash -- which is good for a student.

Just a couple notes before I ask some questions: My back yard isn't quite suitable for shooting, since we have neighbors close enough that they wouldn't appreciate the report. If I take a hike about 5 km behind my house, though, there might be a place to do that. I live on the edge of town and there's a forest behind my house. Some people use it for hiking though, so I'd have to be really careful. I've thought about using target / subsonic rounds in the backyard though.

But seeing as you guys have the experience behind you, I wondered what you might have to add. Here are some questions:

Maybe I really should be going for a bolt action instead? I've heard I'll have some problems with target / subsonic rounds in the 10/22, in that the action won't cycle. I don't like that idea though, because I think I'd learn a lot more about shooting, by being able to fire two or three rounds at one target then two or three at another without having to work the bolt. And breathing control :). The CZ 542 (I think that's it) looks like a gem but it's a lot more than the 10/22.

Or I could just be daft in thinking that target / subsonic rounds give off less of a report than regular rounds. Most noise comes from escaping gases, second most from breaking the sound barrier, right? Are target / subsonic rounds much better for lower report?