Shooters Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to the reloading scene. If this question has been posted and I missed it somewhere just point me in the right direction.

I purchased the RCBS Rockchukker Supreme Master reloading kit. While reloading my 9mm, I had no problems (straight case). However when I started with the .270 WSM, I ran into a question about the Case Overall Length (COL). I purchased new Winchester .270 WSM cases and ran up a few dummy loads (no primer or powder) for practice. I immediately found out that on measuring the COL with calipers, the lengths varied by .001" - .004". I made sure the die was locked in to prevent slippage. I then measured the case lengths without the bullet and found the same variance in the blank cases. My concerns are: 1) Do all new cases vary in lengths like this right out of the bag?, 2) Are these differences significant?, 3) Should I be trimming "new" cases to exact lengths?

Thank you for helping a "newbie" to reloading

·
Registered
87 Posts
1) Do all new cases vary in lengths like this right out of the bag?, Yes

2) Are these differences significant?, No, not really.

3) Should I be trimming "new" cases to exact lengths?

Can if ya want. many folks find the shortest case--with in specs-- and trim the rest to that one. Or just trim to book length on all, and the short ones will catch-up in length after a few firings ;)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Lane. You helped remove some of my initial frustration. I am a stickler for accuracy and didn't want to screw up my new Browning BLR .270 WSM.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Your welcome!

The more ya do this, the more detailed you'll get;)

I kind got to this stage so far:

1. examine cases for defects
2. de-bur the primer pockets inside case
3. Full length resize all of them
4. trim all to the shortest usable case length
5. weigh all cases, and seperate into groups