Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been saving and am just about ready to order a 1894 Marlin from David Clements. I am planning on having the chamber throated for a BTB .432 250gr LFN. Was thinking of starting with 23 gr of H110 with this bullet and working up to 25gr by.5 gr increments. I'm pretty new to handloading, thought I would take advantage of the wealth of experience that presents it's self here in this forum. Your comments and advice will be appreciated.
Mark

(Edited by Mark Van Scoy at 8:45 pm on April 20, 2001)

·
Registered
935 Posts
Hi Mark,
congrat's on the 1894.  It is a wonderful gun.  I got an 1894p last Nov and it's a hoot to shoot.  But back to the topic...

These figures are for the 16" bbl.  If you are getting the 20" bbl you could probably add about 100 fps.  Over this past winter I did some testing with Marshall's 250 gr .432 LFNGC bullet in the 1894p and some of my 44 revolvers.  In fact, I wrote an article in Tech notes that gives you a bunch of velocities for the 1894p.

Anyway, the short answer to your question is that I got to about 1900 fps before pressure got to be a problem.  That was with both H-110 and 'Lil Gun.  I thought 'Lil Gun gave better extreme spreads.  My opinion is AA-9 may be better than the other 2 powders since I've found it easier to work with in lighter bullets.  Problem is I lost interest and went on to test heavier bullets.  

I'll be happy to share any of my data with you if you care to e-mail me at  [email protected]
If you shoot for an accurate load at around 1800 fps you'll probably end up with the best of all worlds.  By the way, if you take my data, use it with a real caution since I shot these loads in 20 degree weather.  A 100 degree day can make everything different.  Happy to help Mark.

God bless......................  Bill M

·
Registered
2,429 Posts