Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am a complete newbie when it comes to any and all things long range related. However, that being said I would like to give F-TR competitions a try. I have guns and hunt so I am not new to shooting, but when it comes to long range I am for the most part clueless. I don't have a large budget (around $1500-$2000 including scope) so the gun has to be on the cheap end. A few options I have noticed for my budget would be the Savage 12 F-TR. Although I'd prefer a rifle that is not a single action. Another option I saw was the Browning X-Bolt Eclipse Target Rifle. I have seen little to no information regarding this being able to shoot well at 1000 yards. Also, what barrel lengths can you use efficiently at 1000 yards? Finally, would it be possible to get started in this shooting class without reloading my own ammo (don't have the time, money, or space right now). Any and all help is very much appreciated.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,454 Posts
Welcome, I am going to move this to the Rifles and Rifle cartridges forum where you might get more focused replies.

·
Registered
7,714 Posts
I think you need to find a mentor. I'd love to "taste" the disciplines myself, but would not consider just throwing money at it.

Could mount and zero a scope "backwards" on a 22 RF just to see how bad you want it.

It sure would be fun to try that once (or twice).

Cheezywan

·
Registered
2,982 Posts
Welcome.
Sounds like you should be looking for some ones 'selling to fund the next project rifle.
I cant see you getting the desired acuracy from factory amo no matter how much you spend on a gun unless you were lucky enough to pick up a rifle the just happened to like a certain round.