Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found a used Lyman .54 cal cap lock pistol at a gun show. Use cap lock rifle & flintlock rifle so not complete novice but never a pistol.
So, the questions come:
  • best powder size.....FFg or FFFg or??
  • ball same as for my .54 rifle?
  • starting load of powder if .530 ball/patch is OK?
thanks for any input.
IBD

·
Super Moderator
3,828 Posts
Welcome to the Forum

I have the same pistol and the instruction manual gives the following load data for the .54 caliber:

.54 caliber .530 round ball 50 grs. FFFG powder

I use a .010" lubricated patch with this powder charge. Hope this helps. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Lyman pistol

thanks for the info that is helpful. A starting place. I will try to get a copy of hte instruction manual from Lyman. Can't be to many pages for a single shot M/L. I have some books to reference to but like to see what real users use.
How does yours shoot? I haven't fired this one yet but now I can try. It seems to have a nice trigger for what it is.

thanks for the welcome too. first day here.

·
Super Moderator
3,828 Posts
Irish Bird Dog

My Lyman .54 caliber percussion pistol shoots a bit high at 25 yards. I will have my gunsmith fit a higher front sight to lower the point of impact and then use a file to get it where I want it. I like to carry my .54 pistol when using my .54 Lyman Trade Rifle or .54 Great Plains Rifle. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks Gil Martin for the info. I will check mine out this wknd weather permiting....it's been below zero last few nights and part of days. I plan to use my pistol for the rendezvous along with my custom flintlock rifle.......would like to have a FL pistol as some point.

·
Registered
480 Posts