Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Super Moderator
3,375 Posts
I'll probably open a can of worms here, but I'll tell you that the most consistent, most uniform ballistic performance I've found with the .454 has come through the use of WSRP exclusively!   Remington 7 1/2's come in a very close second in the accuracy and ballistic uniformity department.   There most likely are as many different opinions here as there are primers, but you are lighting off a comaratively small charge of powder, that is relatively fast burning when compared to conventional rifle powders, therefore I contend that a standard strength small rifle primer is adequate to light the fire of your H110/W296 or AA #9 that you'll be using in the .454.

Uniformity is the key to accuracy, regardless of the cartridge!  Once that uniformity is established, the accuracy will come!

Hope this helps!

God Bless,

Marshall

·
Registered
21 Posts
I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to reloading the 454, but using Federal Match Small Rifle primers, I have noticed large (I guesstimate 2-3grn or so?) amounts of unburnt powder being scattered across the shooting stand. This only occurs when I go 20% under the maximum load. Under full loads, all powder is fully burned up.

I use N110 (Vihtavuori N110), which is comparable to H110 in burn rate, but comes in tiny cylindrical shaped grains.

·
Registered
131 Posts
I AM WITH MARSHALL ON THIS ONE, I USED EVERYTHING IN THE 454 FROM CCI400,450MAG,BR4, REM 7 1/2 AND FEDERAL BUT NONE OF THEM GIVE THE PERFORMANCE THAT THE NEW WINCHESTER GOLDS DO. VERY CLEAN AND CONSISTANT. ONE THING TO REMEMBER THAT A HEAVY BULLET PULL IN REGARDS TO TIGHT BULLET FIT IN THE CASE IS IN MY OPINION THE MOST CRITICAL PART WITH THESE CARTRIDGES 44MAG,454,475 IN ORDER TO GET A CLEAN AND EFFICIENT BURN OF THE POWDER MORE SO THAN CRIMP AND SOMETIMES PRIMER SELECTION.           JIM.

·
Registered
21 Posts